ch-ch-ch-changes

So, about my boss. I got a new one this week. I think it’ll be a good thing. I’ve worked alongside him and his team for some time now, and I had a lot of opportunity to watch his management style in action and to see how he really looks out for his reps.

Still, I am going to miss my previous manager. I had a year to get used to her and really came to like her as a person. I liked having a manager who was on site, and whom I could bounce ideas off of and get immediate feedback.

While change is good – it’s still change. I have to learn the new guy’s communication style. How often do I check in with him? How do I know when he wants something prioritized? Will he give me all the details on a project, or just the bare facts – leaving me to deduce the rest. Plus, he’s off-site most of the time. So I have to get used to communicating by phone, email and voicemail.

But it gives me an opportunity to have more of the “Field sales rep” experience. Learning to manage my time/projects/territory on my own and be accountable for my time and efforts.

I’m a little nervous, but optimistic. I’m used to change at this point. There’s been nothing but it since I’ve moved into the sales department of my company. In 5 years, I’ve had 6 managers, three job roles, two lab operating systems, and a partridge in a pear tree.

And so the adventure continues….

Leave a comment

Filed under pays the rent

Leave a Reply

