Back on the shelf

So, I love to read.

I have a stack of books in my “queue” that almost bothers me to look at. So many to read, so little time to do it. And some just keep getting pushed back in line – while newer ones take cuts in front of them.

I recently finished Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller. And by recently I mean this morning. I felt like a slow start to my wake up – especially since i had a late night Friday. I’ve been working through this book for a few weeks. I could’ve finished it a lot sooner, but I wanted to relish it. Savor it. It’s that good. I didn’t want to rush through it in a frenzied manor. Don’s writing style, his stories, his real-life characters (including himself) charmed me totally. I wanted to chew on his ideas and really digest his observations.

The subtitle of this book is: Nonreligious thoughts on Christian sprituality. There are great references to music artists (EmmyLou Harris, ani difranco, Patty Griffin, The Pogues), movies, books, liberal colleges, and outdoors experiences. And – (AMEN!) I finally found a kindred spirit – a fellow Christian who doesn’t believe that the Democratic Party is evil. I am not the sole member of the religious left. holla.

I highly recommend reading this book. Christian or not – it’s just good storytelling. It’s an easy read but it will challenge you to think about your viewpoints.

A favorite quote from the book – reminiscing about his visit to the base of the Grand Canyon:

There is something beautiful about a billion stars held steady by a God who knows what He is doing. (They hang there, the stars, like notes on a page of music, free-form verse, silent mysteries, swirling in the blue like jazz.)

There are other references in this book to “blue” and “jazz”. I can’t say that this excerpt is where he got the title from, but the word picture here just hit me. I could relate to it. And I don’t think I’ll look at a glorious star filled sky the same way again.

1 Comment

Filed under God, Things I heart, what i'm reading

One response to “Back on the shelf

  1. Pingback: Oh, Bama! « Just Juli

Leave a Reply

