The last good canoli

He said it felt strange

To be walking anywhere

not holding her hand.

 

Haiku for my great-uncle Jim.  He’s been married to my great-aunt for 40 years and it’s just so great to see them still walking hand in hand wherever they go.  We were out for a big family dinner when they visited this weekend.  Jim and Sheila drove in separate cars (Girls in one, guys in the other).  I had driven by myself and parked by the guys car.  As we’re walking there, he looked over where Sheila was, then looked down at his hand. 

“It’s so odd,” Jim said, “I’m just so used to holding her hand.”

I’m tucking that memory in my heart to pull out when I need a reminder of how beautiful life, love and family are

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, food, home, HOTW, Things I heart

Leave a Reply

