a pox on you!

What a great insult.  I mean, really – who would actually wish for someone to have the pox if they didn’t truly despise the person?

Most people I know have had chicken pox as a child.  It’s just one of those things that you get.  One of those itchy, scratchy, feverish, uncomfortable, downright miserable things that you just get.  I was very lucky – my best friend Kelly got them about 1-2 days after I did in the fourth grade.  So we hung out on couches covered in cool cotton sheets and were miserable together.  We ate popsicles and watched reruns of The Monkees, Gilligan’s Island and The Brady Bunch.  Misery loves company – and that’s the truth!

 

I dated a guy who came down with the chicken pox at age 30.  While on a family vacation to Disney World.  The fever and aches (and the pox) came down hard on him shortly after entering the park.  He whizzed his young son (maybe 1 1/2 yrs old?) Through the park highlights and then headed home. To Michigan.  In a car. 

Again – I realize I had it pretty lucky.

Last night I talked to my good friend Sue.  This woman waited over 30 years to come down with what sounds like the worst case of chicken pox I’ve ever heard of.  They’re in her ears, her nose, her mouth.  She’s downright miserable – and for good cause.  She was in a fevered, chilled stupor at then end of last week – and it went downhill from there.  I wish I would’ve known sooner.  I would have stopped by to keep her company.  Or bring her some ice tea, ice cream, iced ensure…. Whatever.  Because while there are times during an illness that you just want to be alone – a week is a looooong time to be isolated. 

I spent 4 days this last February in bed with the flu.  I was delirious, feverish, and had horrible chilling cold sweats.  The worst was the monotony of not having anyone to talk to or hang out.  I didn’t want to infect anyone – so I kept to myself.  But watching reruns from the couch is so much better with friends!

beautiful sueSo tonight, I’ll be visiting my dear Sue.  There’ll be movies and ice cream, and cool beverages.  We love you, Sue – get better soon!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, Things I heart

Leave a Reply

