The Scenic Route

I was reading a post today on Confessions of a Pioneer Woman. (If you haven’t read her – go. Now. I’ll wait patiently until you get back. Just to warn you, her posts documenting how she met and fell in love with her husband, the Marlboro Man are addictive. It’s outright blogging crack, I tell ya!)

Okay – you back now? So the post was about retrospection. Looking back, how is your life now different from where you thought it would be? What dreams of yours have changed? Been discarded? What do you still secretly (or not so secretly) pine for?

My response to her post went like this:

I am nowhere near where I thought I would be 10 years ago. But I think I’m better off for the most part.
10 yrs ago I was engaged to my college boyfriend who was the youngest of 7 kids from a very Catholic family. I was a staunch, stubborn agnostic who was looking forward to moving to Chicago.

Flash forward 10 yrs and now I live in the burbs outside of Detroit – and would love to find a place more out in the country. Still single, but now I am loving being a child of God. I go on an annual medical mission trip to Kenya, and work in the middle school ministry at church. I love life, love my friends, love my job.

Was expecting to be married and a mother by now – but not sure when (if) that’s going to happen. Trying to be content with that, although it can be a struggle at times – especially when my sister and girlfriends are all in that stage of life. But I’m trying to work on my patience! The best things come to those who wait, right?

Things certainly have changed in the last 10 years. Sometimes I long for the careless independence of my youth, and other times I shudder to think of how I lived my life back then.

What about you? In what surprising ways has your life story unfolded over the years?

Leave a comment

Filed under bloggy love, God, this random life

Leave a Reply

