Recovering from Vacation…

So – yeah! It’s summer!  It took its sweet time, but it finally feels like the warmth is starting to penetrate Michigan.

Of course, I didn’t realize this until I escaped to Cape Cod for a few days.  I loved it – and have so much to share about my great family and friends.  I got to take in some great views, eat some fabulous lobster rolls, and hit one of my favorite ice cream shops.

Oh yeah – and injure myself three ways in the process.  Some people like to relax and rejuvinate themselves while taking time off.  Not me – I like to bring the hurt.    Truthfully, I don’t really like it – it just kind of happens.  I’m pretty unlucky that way.

Day One at the beach:  This happens:

This is not what I meant when I said I wanted lobster....

This is not what I meant when I said I wanted lobster....

Just like it does every stinkin year.  You would think I would know better by now.  The front of me wasn’t too bad.  I remembered sunblock on my chest, face and arms.  What I completely forgot (Hello, Captain Obvious,) was my back.  Which is also why I look like I’m molting right now.

 

Next to go was the feet.  I bought some running shoes a few months ago, and went with a slightly different style since I started getting some injuries last year.  I like the shoes, but I have been getting a lot of blisters in them.  I had to walk the last mile of my 6 mile run on Day Two since my arches were in so. much. pain.   Huge blister on each instep.  Which then popped and filled with beach sand on Day Three. 

So now I’m back home and recouperating. 🙂  Took a few days off of running, and am now getting back into the swing of things. 

Although I do miss taking my morning conference calls in this place:

room with a view

I also spent three marathon days of intensive training for my company – hence the hiatus on this site recently.  But I have lots to share, and will be playing catch up over the next few days.

1 Comment

Filed under getting out of dodge, this random life

One response to “Recovering from Vacation…

  1. YEOCH! That burn looks painful. We lived in MA for a few years and never made it to the Cape. I’m still kicking myself for that!

    I’m so late in thanking you for stopping by my blog when I was featured on SITS. I look forward to returning and reading more!

Leave a Reply

