Investing – Leadership Summit

Lately I’ve been doing a lot more investing.

In myself – career goals, leadership skills, and- yes – a little pampering too.

And in my relationships with others.

My schedule has always been sort of an issue for me. Always so jam-packed. I was always a girl on the go. Things to do! People to see! But since I was always in a rush – I hardly had time to really slow down and enjoy my friendships. More importantly – to really spend time pouring into the people that mattered to me. And to make sure that I was keeping “fueled” for the tasks prepared for me.

I took today and tomorrow off of work to attend a live satellite broadcast of The Leadership Summit at Willow Creek Church in IL. The minimal cost in dollars and vacation days is already beyond worthwhile to me. There are so many gems that I will be taking away from this conference.

I love watching and learning from people who are passionate about their mission in life. Whether it’s in the classroom or the boardroom. In the field overseas – or in an inner city. Today we heard from Bill Hybels on “The High Drama of Decision Making”, where I was challenged in my journaling as well as thinking about my decision making process. His new book Axiom has just been released – I recommend it.

Next up was Gary Haugen of International Justice Mission. All I can say is Wow. This is a group of people who have dedicated their lives to rescuing people from so many forms of injustice around the globe. Including slavery, police brutality and sex trafficking. I can’t imagine the immense evil these people see every day. The staff has two daily prayer and reflection times each day to help bolster them. Gary spoke powerfully of Leadership that Matters to God. And how to continue when things seem hopeless, frightening, and hard.

Next up was Bill George – former CEO of Medtronic and Professor at Harvard Business School. He is also the author of Authentic Leadership and True North. Both have been highly recommended – and I will add them to my (ever growing) reading queue. Bill spoke of “Finding Your True North” about what is imperative in 21st century Leadership. One key note I have is “Follow your compass, not your clock”. It’s not about the timing – but the direction that you are heading in. Easier said than done for an impatient person like me!

Wendy Kopp – CEO & Founder of Teach For America. This woman knew her mission in life when she was 22 yrs old. She has lead this organization since 1990 and I am inspired by her passion for her vision: One day all children in this country will have access to an excellent education. Teach for America has a bold vision for growth. I encourage you to support them.

Lastly (But not Least!!) We heard from John Burke and Efrem Smith in the last two sessions. They spoke on Leading in New Cultural Realities. John leads Gateway Community Church in Austin, TX, and Efrem is the Pastor of The Sanctuary Covenant Church in Minneapolis, MN. These were the talks that fired me up. I took so much wisdom from these last speakers to bring back to my small group, my high school group, and my workplace. I am especially excited to try John’s 60/60 experiment that he discusses in his book Soul Revolution. And I can’t say enough about Pastor Smith! He was on fire today and I am truly inspired to have more passion for my ministry. One quote from him: “When Jesus comes back, that will be the ultimate justice. Until then, it’s just us.” We are Plan A, Plan B, and Plan C. We are God’s plan to redeem this broken world with His love.

No pressure. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under God

2 responses to “Investing – Leadership Summit

  1. cornishevangelist

    We read this in Hebrews 11 v 13, Abraham desired a better country that is heavenly, that is what is written in God’s Holy Bible,
    So let us also set our hearts and minds, not on this world, but upon a heavenly kingdom where Jesus shall wipe away all tears from our eyes and there shall be no more death,
    neither shall there be any more crying, neither shall there be any more pain. Praise God.
    cornishevangelist.wordpress.com
    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  2. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

