Heart broken

Have you ever had your heart broken for good? That’s how I felt after returning from the West Pokot area of Kenya last October.

A team of amazing people from Harvesters International in Hilton Head, Callahan Baptist in FL, and my church, Kensington Community Church, in MI spent just over two weeks there last fall. We hosted free medical clinics in remote areas of the bush and saw over 2800 people. We sent medications home for well over 3000 Pokot.

It was over 100 degrees by 10am everyday. We ate MRE’s at night, and snack foods that we brought with us during the day. We had to cart in our own water for the 1.5 weeks in “the bush”. It was tough & exhausting…. and I have never felt more alive in my life.

I feel like I went through the first three decades of my life and traveled halfway around the world to find where my heart had been waiting for me all along. The beauty of the people and the land still haunt me daily. I long to be back in that beautiful, sun drenched country. To sit outside at night listening to the heavenly singing of the students drifting over the hill. My heart is broken for the Pokot.

I am 40 days away from my return to that place. From seeing those faces again. From taking a small part of my life and, with an amazing team of faithful believers, sharing God’s love. The medicine we offered them would only be a short term remedy for most. The love we offered them is much more far-reaching and, we hope, deeply touching.

The fact that God can use a broken, imperfect, selfish sinner such as myself to reveal Himself to others is the ultimate example of grace.

40 days left to prepare my heart for what will be asked of me. 40 short days before I get to truly experience what Jesus promised: “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come so that they may have life, and have it to the full” John 10:10

Until then, (and long after, I’m sure,) I will continue to be haunted by faces like these:

Children often care for younger siblings.  Mothers will often distance themselves from their young children since only 1 in 5 Pokot children survive to age 5

Children regularly care for younger siblings. Mothers will often distance themselves from their young children since only 1 in 5 Pokot children survive to age 5

Longing to see them again and to rejoice in our shared time together.

3 Comments

Filed under God, Kenya dig it?

3 responses to “Heart broken

  1. Wow. I can see why your heart was broken. What a wonderful thing you all did though! Thank you for sharing this with us!

  2. I have the chills…wow, what a gift of yourself, medicine, and faith you are able to give to these people. I’m looking forward to hearing about your next adventure…you’re an inspiration!!

  3. Completely amazing. I read some posts of bloggers who went to Africa this spring. It affected them in ways they never imagined. I think you’re doing such a wonderful work. God bless you for being obedient!

    And thanks for submitting your post!

Leave a Reply

