New Routine

I think my internal clock is out of whack. Lately I’ve been waking up at 4:30 am.

Let me just repeat that: 4:30 am.

Ugh. My alarm doesn’t go off until 6:30, and I usually don’t get up until 7-14 minutes after that. That means that I am losing over 2 perfectly good hours of sleep each morning. It doesn’t matter if I go to bed at 10 or at midnight – I am waking up at the same time.

Tuesday I took advantage of my new gym membership and was there working out by 5:45 – since it was obvious that I wasn’t going to get any more sleep. If I was going to be up, I might as well be productive! Wednesday, I tried to fight it and eventually dozed off around 6. I can’t remember what I did on Monday – maybe because my brain cells are a little exhausted from all this overtime they’ve been pulling lately.

This has been happening on and off for a while now. Sometimes I use the “extra time” to pray. Sometimes I read, and other times I blog. I’m looking for some good, non-prescription remedies to help me stay in dreamland a little longer each night. Does anyone have any suggestions or helpful tips on how to fall back asleep?

Or at least where to find the reset button on this internal clock – so I can get back to normal. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I need a nap. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under this random life

4 responses to “New Routine

  1. A glass of warm milk? Nah, just the thought of that would keep me awake. Yuck!

    I never had problems with insominia until several months ago. But, rather than waking up early, I have problems falling asleep initially. Sometimes I do get up and try to do something, but usually I’m so exhausted from lack of sleep that I’m not much use.

    It’s horrible. Being tired but not being able to sleep. Sometimes I take a Benydryl tablet (antihistimine only, make sure it doesn’t have a decongestant added in) and that helps.

  2. 4:30 is only acceptable if you are getting on a plane to go somewhere fabulous 🙂

  3. what in the world??? i have tried to work out in the morn…it just doesn’t work for me. i get sick…i think it’s my body’s way of saying, “go back to bed”.

    so, grab a nap…but hurray for you for being a good gym rat!!

  4. That would be hellacious for me…I’m such a snoozer…I would be beside myself…a little too dramatic?!
    I don’t have any good suggestions, but kuddos for you for going on to the gym!!

Leave a Reply

