Jones-ing

The other day I shared about my upcoming trip to West Pokot, Kenya.  (Actually – we’re not sure if we’ll be in East or West Pokot, but we think it’s West this year.  Flexibility is key here!)

I also mentioned that it is less than 40 days away.  37 or 36 days as of today, depending on where you count from.  To start preparing myself for this trip I have decided to do a 40 day “fast”.  This is to get my heart, mind & body prepared for the types of sacrifices that will be asked of me daily while in country.

I decided to fast from something that is kind of a luxury.  And by “kind of”  I mean – daily necessity for me. 

mmmmmmmm..........

mmmmmmmm..........

Yes, friends, I’m talking about chocolate. 

One of my favorite things in the whole wide world.  Something that I enjoy regularly, and crave almost daily.  I needed to pick something that would actually be a real sacrifice for me and not just some lame attempt at fasting.

Monday night I hit the gym, then went to grab a hot fudge sundae for dinner with my girlfriend (and DSW) Chrissy.  I needed one last fix before my vacation from all things cocoa.  Great workout (killer!). Great dessert. Great company.  Monday was a good day. 🙂  The rest of the days have been a little tougher.  I have had to curb myself at least once a day.  But I’ve been good about it – avoiding temptation wherever possible.

Today, however, I slipped.  Ugh.  And only 4 days in – that’s only 10% of my time frame.  In my defense, it was a mistake.  I simply forgot!  A coworker brought in Dunkin Donuts munchkins this morning and I grabbed a regular glazed and chocolate glazed to take with me to my desk.  It was a full two hours later before I realized my error.  Doh!

So – now I try again.  Let’s see if I can do better for the remaining 90% of this trial.  Wish me luck – I’m gonna need all I can get!

Happy Holiday weekend!

6 Comments

Filed under food, Kenya dig it?, The DSW's, Things I heart

6 responses to “Jones-ing

  1. I tried to fast from coffee. I caved this morning. It happens to all of us!

  2. Thats a serious fast. Only God can help you survive!!! 😉

  3. Wow, what a smart thing to do…I never would have thought of that…I would be in Kenya jonesing for Mexican!!
    You’re allowed to slip up once in awhile and I don’t think it counts if you didn’t realize you were cheating!!

  4. Wow, that’s a really good idea. You’re strong. I don’t know if I could fast from chocolate. Best wishes (and good luck on your trip!).
    (Thanks for your nom’s!)

  5. Oh, I’m a MAJOR chocaholic, myself! Just looking at that photo got me craving some! BTW, I’m hosting a giveaway that you might be interested in. Drop on by and take a look around!

  6. I’m sure once you are there, your mind will be everywhere else BUT on chocolate! LOL
    I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

