Potty-Humor Me

I don’t have too many pet peeves.  But the ones that I do have really can get under my skin.

One of my biggest irks has to do with workplace bathrooms.  What I don’t get is how women can abuse a place so horribly.  Seriously?  Do they treat their bathrooms at home like this?

My building is an adult-only kind of place.  Due to safety reasons, there are no children allowed.  So all of the issues in the restrooms are caused by adults.  Grown ups.  AKA: People who should know better.  Let’s take a little trip down the row of stalls a girl may come across on an average day.

Stall #1:  The “Nester”.  This is someone who is possibly a germaphobe?  She will stack maybe 10 toilet seat covers on top of the toilet to create the ultimate barrier.  The problem is, that they don’t even begin to flush down the loo.  So, after she leaves, you will walk into a stall with 10 used toilet seat covers topped by a giant wad of used toilet paper.  Ugh.  Next stall, please!

Stall #2:  The “Squatter”:  Basically the opposite of the Nester.  This person doesn’t believe in using toilet seat covers.  Maybe their reasons are environmental, or they just have to pee so bad that they can’t bother taking the time to pull out the seat cover.  Either way – the damage is the same.  This person will leave behind a seat covered in pee.  ew.  They apparently never heard the rhyme: “If you sprinkle when you tinkle: Be a sweetie, wipe the seatie.”  Really, would you leave toilet at home covered in urine and just walk away?.  Move on to the next stall…

Stall #3:  The “Hit & Run”.  This woman is in a hurry.  She has to get somewhere fast and doesn’t have time to make sure that the toilet actually flushed.  We have automatic flushing toilets here, but that doesn’t mean that they always work.  And they certainly don’t have the technology to detect when a second flush is needed. (Or third – if you know what I mean). 😉  How hard is it to take a few seconds to make sure that the auto-flush did what it’s supposed to do?  But I guess some ladies can’t be bothered with the details like that.  And the rest of us get to deal with what she’s left behind in her wake.

Don’t even get me started on people who leave without washing their hands.  I make a mental note of who they are and avoid every item they bring to the bake-sale fundraisers!

I don’t think it’s asking too much to have a little common courtesy and hygeine in the restrooms at work.  The average person spends more waking hours here on any given week then they do in their own home. 

Okay – time to get off my soapbox, and into the loo.  Wish me luck!

5 Comments

Filed under pays the rent, this random life, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Potty-Humor Me

  1. I’m so disturbed by it that I will clean up after others, which is also disturbing I guess. 🙂

  2. EW!!! I don’t understand how all etiquette goes out the window in the public stalls! It’s like in the movie theatres where people just throw everything all over the floor–I guess they figure, they don’t have to clean it up so who cares? So gross!!

  3. Disgusting!!! It is amazing that adult WOMEN do this!!

  4. I feel like I need to go wash my hands after just reading this post. Ewww!

    I liked your rhyme… if you sprinkle when you tinkle, etc.

    Perhaps bathroom bouncers might be the answer. Officer, arrest that woman! Sentence her to 2 weeks community service….in the bathroom!

  5. I worked for a law firm that shared the floor with a magazine publishing co. The ladies next door were mostly young, trendy chicks. Then there were the older, classy women. You would think with this crowd we could keep our bathroom clean. I thought wrong. Sometimes it was just ICK!

Leave a Reply

