Countdown – Day 24

24 Days left until I head to West Pokot, Kenya.

24 days until I get to work with an amazing team of people in some crazy heat.  Until I get to experience the joy of serving alongside my brothers and sisters in helping a remote – but not forgotten – people.

 

The problem is, I’m still here in my life.  In my world.  Caught up in the details and distractions that I face everyday.  What to wear to the office. Where to grab lunch. When will I be able to squeeze in a workout?  Does he like me? Do I want this relationship? 

 

Distractions seem to have taken over my life.  Relationships, job stress, home stress.  My mind finds time to focus on anything but preparations for the trip and quiet time with God.  (um – mostly because I can’t quiet my mind!)

I’m going on a retreat this weekend – to get away from the everyday buzz and re-focus, re-center.   I really just need the strength and willpower to remove myself from the center of my universe, allowing Him to take his rightful place there in my life.

 

Oh – and 24 days until I can have chocolate! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under God, Kenya dig it?

2 responses to “Countdown – Day 24

  1. Kim

    Wow, I feel the exact same way. I’ll be praying for you this weekend!

  2. It always feel so good to get away to re-focus & re-center. Take a big breath for me too!!

Leave a Reply

