Where I’ve been….

I know that I’ve been very AWOL lately on this site.  I’ve been suffering from a chaotic mix of over scheduling, reclusive downtime and major writers block.

I haven’t been home between 7:30am and 11pm this week.  It’s all “good” stuff – but it definitely keeps me from posting on here.  I have time to hop onto “crackbook” during the day, but not enough time to develop cohesive thoughts into a post.

I have just a few days (8!!) before I leave for Kenya.  So much to do before then! I am getting so very excited, and can’t help but become totally animated every time I talk about it.  I’ll be posting the prayer calendar here shortly – as well as scheduled daily updates while our team is out of the country.  In the meantime, I’m trying to get all major projects at work either updated or completed, and kicking off two ministries this weekend.

In other words – not much going on. 🙂

To explain a little about where I was tonight:

Somewhere under the Detroit River

Somewhere under the Detroit River

I have a love/hate relationship with the border.  I live so close to Canada that it’s really not a problem to head on over and visit friends after work.  I was invited to see the Windsor Spitfires game (Ontario Hockey League) where they retired the jersey for #18 Mickey Renaud and then kicked the Sarnia Sting’s butts.  I went with Mark (who is a calendar wizard!  I am so excited for the Kenya calendars!).

We had fun!

No time to worry about focus.

No time to worry about focus.

But on the way back – I got stopped by Customs Border Patrol.  You see, since this was a very last minute invitation, I did not grab my passport from home before making a run for the border.  And while it’s not technically a requirement right now, it will be in 2009.  I also didn’t have my birth certificate.  So, I got to spend some fun time with Homeland Security while they checked my very messy car.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m glad that they’re thorough.  But why do I seem to have a lot of problems crossing the border?  I have a lengthy history with both the US and Canada wanting to check me out very closely.  However – that’s a story for another day.

I’ve got to get to bed now – I have another long day in front of me tomorrow (and Saturday. and Sunday!)  But I promise not to be so distant….

1 Comment

Filed under Friends, Sporty Spice, this random life

One response to “Where I’ve been….

  1. Looks like you had a great time. I’ve been suffering from the same writer’s block ailment…I feel your pain 😉

Leave a Reply

