Baby got back… pain

Let me just start off by saying that I LIKE working out.  And I LIKE my personal trainer at the gym.

(let me also say that I’m a little afraid that he will kill me if I don’t say that Karl is the BEST personal trainer, ever!).

I kid, I kid.

But every once in a while he really REALLY kicks my butt.  Or, in this case, my upper back.  I went in on Tuesday after work to have one of my fun sessions with Karl.  I also had an appointment with him on Monday – but cancelled because I had stayed home sick from work.

(Note to self – never, never, never cancel on Karl last minute.  You will be making up for it!)

I’ve been having a lot of fun with him these last few months, and he’s great at finding creative ways to challenge me.  Tuesday’s challenge was: Back.

And it was challenging.

I immediately knew I was going to be in trouble.  I hit the treadmill after my session and couldn’t coordinate my arms to “pump” right during my run.  It was all I could do to complete just one mile.  After that, I gave up and let myself walk for a half mile.  (Remember – I WAS sick the day before and had only partially recovered my voice.  So cut me some slack!)  I had a 5K planned, but it was not meant to be – all because of my arms??

I woke up on Wednesday with the dreaded “T-Rex” arm syndrome.

My arms are about as useful as this guys.

My arms are about as useful as this guys.

I had these useless appendages at my sides.  I couldn’t lift my right arm even shoulder high.  I needed assistance throughout the day to lift and reach things at the office.

Here’s a more “medical” diagram of what I’m going through:

What is my Infraspinatus - and why does it hate me so?

This is the last time I cancel on Karl.

And I’ll stick to a safe area to work on, like my chest.

And I’ll be sure to have plenty of Motrin on hand.

8 Comments

Filed under Sporty Spice, this random life

8 responses to “Baby got back… pain

  1. Rhi

    There is nothing worse than a vindictive trainer 🙂

  2. You are a better person than I am! I hate working out. I hope you feel better soon and get back out there:-)

  3. Love the diagram!! LOL I hate working out, so I am sore everytime I exercise.

  4. I know the feeling! Good for you for working out though!! No pain, no gain, right??

  5. LOL
    OMGosh! That was too funny. That’ll teach ya!

  6. Hilarious! (for me, right? Cause I’m not the one with the back pain)

    (visiting from BPOTW)

  7. Oh, this is hilarious (and I love the post title)! I’m sure you can laugh at it one day 🙂 My husband does this to himself every now and then. He’ll miss a couple days at the gym and then go overboard (usually on his biceps). The next day I’m having to massage the muscles to relax so he’s not T-Rexing it 🙂

    Thanks for submitting your post again!

  8. Oh, my. You are too funny!

    I have a love/hate relationship with T-Rex arms. It means I have done something good, but if I can’t make the coffee cup reach my lips, what’s the point?

Leave a Reply

