Stiff-Necked

Just Juli, self-portrait. May, 2010 (courtesy of necksolutions.com)

As I sit here recovering (still!) from my whiplash, I am reminded of a phrase that I read in the Bible referring to the Israelites as “a stiff-necked people“.   When I looked up this passage, I was surprised to find that this description is found 7 times in the scriptures.

If God says something once, it has meaning.  Twice – you should take more notice of it.  But seven times?  He is really trying to get your attention!

That’s me.  And not just right now when I am working just to get my head to comfortably face forward.  (And, oh! To dream of being able to look to my left! Or up! Or down!!)

I am stubborn.  I can be hard hearted, and slow to change my ways.  I am guilty of sometimes falling into bad habits of apathy and laziness.  Even though my heart has been broken for so many marginalized people.  Why is it that I spend more time on facebook than keeping up with world events?  The ignorance of the masses is what keeps the cycle of evil in the world continually spinning.

Edmund Burke is oft misquoted as saying

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing”

Burke’s actual statement from his ‘Thoughts on the Cause of Present Discontents’ reads:

“When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall one by one, an unpitited sacrifice in a contemptible struggle”

Today I am pondering why it is that I can so often get stuck in a cycle of selfishness and be so myopic in my worldview.

More importantly: What steps can I take to become more of an active participant in this world?  What do I need to do to look beyond myself and meet the needs of others?  How do I “soften my neck”?


1 Comment

Filed under God, NaBloPoMo, this random life

One response to “Stiff-Necked

  1. One rule of thumb I often follow is to be able to talk about ten different, and unrelated, topics to anyone during a course of a conversation. You don’t have to convey your opinion on these subjects BUT it will show people that you are well rounded and versed in matters that pertain to a wide group of individuals. I am a former US Marine and very stubborn and rigid in many ways, however I know that many people will never see eye to eye with how I view things or feel. I just don’t show my true card and try to listen to all aspects of a topic, only injecting truth into subjects and not opinions

Leave a Reply

